Henry Bowman (aka Harry) Hunter

Military Information

  • Date of enlistment: 06.04.1915
  • Place of enlistment:
  • Service no: Clyde Z/3812
  • Rank: Able Seaman
  • Awards:
  • Regiment/Service: Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve
  • Unit/Ship: Hood Battalion, R.N. Div
  • Place of Death: France
  • Age at Death: 20
  • Date of Death: 13.11.1916
  • Burial Country: France
  • Cemetery: Thiepval Memorial
  • Grave/Mem Ref no: Pier & Face 1A

Personal Information

  • Date of Birth: 20 April 1898
  • Place of Birth: Dundee
  • Address: 12 Benvie Road, Dundee
  • Occupation: Power Loom Operator
  • Mother:

    Anne Crerar

  • Father:

    Peter Moffat Hunter

  • Siblings:

    Ann Hunter, Jemima Finlay Crerar Hunter, Norman Hunter, Donald Crerar Hunter

  • Spouse:
  • Children:

More about Henry Bowman (aka Harry) Hunter

Harry has no known grave but is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial.

A.B. Harry Hunter, who was erroneously reported as invalided home last week, has been killed in action. His mother resides at 12 Benvie Road, Dundee, and his father is now serving in the Black Watch.

Dundee Peoples Journal Dec 23rd 1916.

According to his official papers he was a Howe Man.

Enlisted 6/4/15 ; Draft for MEF 1/8/15, joined Drake Bn. 20/8/15, temporarily attached Cyclist Company 28/8/15-30/8/15 Dysentery, Invalided to UK 18/9/15 ; Draft for BEF (Lewis Gunner) 10/7/16, joined Howe Bn. 20/8/16-13/11/16 DD. 

CWGC = Hood Bn. ; A Power Loom Worker ; b.26/3/1896 ; Next-of-Kin & home address: Mother, Annie, 12 Benvie Rd., Dundee ; ADM/171 = St.V.B. issued to Universal Legatee.

Additional information kindly supplied by Michael Caldwell

Can you tell us more about Henry Bowman (aka Harry) Hunter? Some additional facts, a small story handed down through the family or perhaps a picture or an heirloom you can share online. Contact our curator...

THANK YOU for your interest in helping the Great War Dundee project. Please complete the short form below and a curator will contact you in the next few days.

    I am writing to: