James Spence

Military Information

  • Date of enlistment:
  • Place of enlistment: Aldershott
  • Service no: 345886
  • Rank: Sergeant
  • Awards:
  • Regiment/Service: Black Watch
  • Unit/Ship: 14th Battalion
  • Place of Death: France
  • Age at Death: 35
  • Date of Death: 07.09.1918
  • Burial Country: France
  • Cemetery: Heilly Station Cemetery, Mericourt-L'Abbe
  • Grave/Mem Ref no: VII.C.9.

Personal Information

  • Date of Birth:
  • Place of Birth: Montrose
  • Address: 61 Baltic St, Dundee
  • Occupation: Montrose Sawmills
  • Mother:

    Mary Spence

  • Father:

    Andrew Spence

  • Siblings:

    2 Brothers

  • Spouse:

    Mary Pert Spence, 18 Rossie Tce, Ferryden, Montrose

  • Children:

    Helen, born 03.07.1912

More about James Spence

James Spence   345886   Black Watch

MONTROSE SERGEANT DIES OF WOUNDS.

Sergeant James Spence, Black Watch, whose wife and child reside at 61 Baltic Street, Montrose, died of wounds received in action on 3rd inst., in a casualty clearing station in France, on 7th inst.  He joined the army at the beginning of the war, and was wounded at the first battle of Loos.  He was for fifteen months in No 1 V.A.D. Hospital in Montrose.  After recovery he was sent to Palestine and returned to France three months ago.  Before enlistment he was employed at Montrose Sawmills.

Montrose, Arbroath and Brechin Review 13th September 1918

SPENCE___Died of wounds received in action on 3rd inst., Sergt. James Spence, Black Watch. Beloved husband of Mary Pert Spence, 61 Baltic Street, third son of the late Andrew Spence, Cobden Street, Montrose.

Dundee People’s Journal 28th September 1918

Additional information kindly supplied by Michael Caldwell

Can you tell us more about James Spence? Some additional facts, a small story handed down through the family or perhaps a picture or an heirloom you can share online. Contact our curator...

THANK YOU for your interest in helping the Great War Dundee project. Please complete the short form below and a curator will contact you in the next few days.

I am writing to: