William Leslie Stuart

Military Information

  • Date of enlistment:
  • Place of enlistment: Dundee
  • Service no: 17242
  • Rank: Private
  • Awards:
  • Regiment/Service: Household Cavalry
  • Unit/Ship: 6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers)
  • Place of Death: France
  • Age at Death: 33
  • Date of Death: 04.09.1918
  • Burial Country: France
  • Cemetery: Vis-En-Artois Memorial
  • Grave/Mem Ref no: Panel 2

Personal Information

  • Date of Birth:
  • Place of Birth: Edinburgh
  • Address: 1 Wellington Street, Dundee
  • Occupation: Dundee Eastern Co-Operative Society, Main St, Dundee
  • Mother:

    Sarah McFerran Stuart, 36 Victoria Rd, Dundee

  • Father:

    Leslie Stuart, 36 Victoria Rd, Dundee

  • Siblings:
  • Spouse:

    Jane A. R. Stuart, 1 Wellington St, Dundee

  • Children:

    1 Child

More about William Leslie Stuart

William has no known grave but is remembered on the Vis-En-Artois Memorial.

William Leslie Stuart   17242   Dragoon Guards (Scots Greys)

Intimation has been received by Mrs Stuart, 1 Wellington Street, Dundee, that her husband, Private W. Leslie Stuart, Dragoon Guards (Scots Greys), was killed in action on 4th September.  Private Stuart, whose parents reside at Craigowl Place, Hawkhill, joined up nineteen months ago.  He had been in France for about a year, and was expecting leave soon.  Before his enlistment he was in the employment of the Dundee Eastern Co-Operative Society, Main Street branch, while prior to that he had a grocery business in Brook Street.  Private Stuart’s father is engaged as a mine-sweeper.  Deceased leaves a widow and one child.

Dundee Courier 10th October 1918

Can you tell us more about William Leslie Stuart? Some additional facts, a small story handed down through the family or perhaps a picture or an heirloom you can share online. Contact our curator...

THANK YOU for your interest in helping the Great War Dundee project. Please complete the short form below and a curator will contact you in the next few days.

    I am writing to: