David James Thomas

Military Information

  • Date of enlistment:
  • Place of enlistment:
  • Service no: 197451
  • Rank: Able Seaman
  • Service Occupation:
  • Awards:
  • Regiment/Service: H.M. Submarine G-7
  • Unit/Ship: Royal Navy
  • Place of Death: Lost at Sea
  • Age at Death: 36
  • Date of Death: 01.11.1918
  • Burial Country:
  • Cemetery: Plymouth Naval Memorial
  • Grave/Mem Ref no:

Personal Information

  • Date of Birth:
  • Place of Birth:
  • Address: 7 Hill St, Dundee
  • Occupation: Leading Torpedoman
  • Mother:

    Caroline Fisher Thomas, Bank Cottage Farm, Burry Port, Carmarthenshire

  • Father:

    David Price Thomas, Bank Cottage Farm, Burry Port, Carmarthenshire

  • Siblings:
  • Spouse:

    Charlotte Bett Thomas, 7 Hill St, Dundee

  • Children:

    Charlotte, born 09.11.1917

More about David James Thomas

In October 1918 Submarine G-7 was on patrol in the North Sea. Communications were lost on 23rd October and she was declared lost on 1st November. She was the last British Submarine to be lost in WW1.

For more information on the sinking of Submarine G-7, View here.

THOMAS, DAVID JAMES (36), Able Seaman (no. 197451), HMS G-7, Royal Navy, †01/11/1918, Long Service and Good Conduct Medal. Son of David Price Thomas and Caroline Fisher Thomas, of Bank Cottage Farm, Burry Port, Carmarthenshire; husband of Charlotte Bett Thomas, of 7, Hill St., Dundee, Memorial: Plymouth Naval Memorial Read more at wrecksite: https://www.wrecksite.eu/wreck.aspx?407

Information supplied by Gary Thomson, additional information and images kindly supplied by Thomas’s grand daughter, Charlotte Alvoet Bleh. Plymouth Memorial images courtesy of findagrave.com

Can you tell us more about David James Thomas'? Some additional facts, a small story handed down through the family or perhaps a picture or an heirloom you can share online. Contact our curator...

THANK YOU for your interest in helping the Great War Dundee project. Please complete the short form below and a curator will contact you in the next few days.

    I am writing to: